Product Comparison · eBike Comparisons
Lacros Cyclone vs Lectric XP 3.0 vs Heybike Mars 3.0: Best Electric Bike Under $1,500?
The Lacros Cyclone, Lectric XP 3.0 and Heybike Mars 3.0 sit within $200 of each other. One carries nearly double the battery of the cheapest. Here is what the spec sheets actually say, and who each bike is for.
Research-based comparison: figures below come from the makers' product pages and our own published guides, rather than first-hand use. Prices were read on 15 September 2026. Links marked as offers are affiliate links; we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
Fifteen hundred dollars is where the fat-tire e-bike market gets crowded, and three bikes sit within $200 of each other in it: the Lectric XP 3.0 at $999, the Lacros Cyclone at $1,059 (a sale price against a $1,699 list), and the Heybike Mars 3.0 at $1,199. All three are 20-inch fat-tire bikes with a rear hub motor and a 48-volt battery, which is exactly why the spec sheets, not the price tags, decide this comparison.
One of them carries nearly double the battery of the cheapest. That single number shapes most of what follows.
The three bikes at a glance
| Lectric XP 3.0 | Lacros Cyclone | Heybike Mars 3.0 | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price (15 Sep 2026) | $999 | $1,059 (list $1,699) | $1,199 |
| Motor | 500 W, 800 W peak | 750 W, 1,400 W peak | 750 W, 1,400 W peak, 95 N·m |
| Battery | 48 V 10.4 Ah, 499 Wh | 48 V 20 Ah, 960 Wh | 624 Wh |
| Advertised range | up to 45 mi (PAS 1) | up to 90 mi (assist level not stated) | up to 65 mi |
| Top speed / class | 20 mph Class 2, 28 mph unlock | 28 mph, class not stated | 20 mph Class 2, 30+ unlock |
| Weight | 64 lb | not published | not published on the badges read |
| Max load | 330 lb | 400 lb | 440 lb |
| Folds? | yes | not stated | yes |
| Brakes | 180 mm mechanical | not stated | unconfirmed (see below) |
| Trial / warranty | — | 30 days / 2 years | 14 days / 2 years |
Sources: the Lectric XP 3.0 figures come from our review, which cites Lectric's published specs at the time; Lacros's and Heybike's figures come from their product pages. Lectric's own pages returned errors to our fetch on 15 September, so the XP 3.0 may be superseded in Lectric's current lineup; check their site for the live model.
Motor and torque
Lacros's Cyclone page describes a 750-watt motor with a 1,400-watt peak. Our XP 3.0 review lists a 500-watt motor with an 800-watt peak. Heybike's Mars 3.0 page lists a 750-watt hub motor, a 1,400-watt peak and 95 newton-metres of torque, the only one of the three to publish a torque figure.
On paper the Lacros and the Heybike are the more powerful pair. Two cautions from our 500 W vs 750 W motor guide: peak watts say nothing about what a motor sustains, and both 500 and 750-watt hubs hold 20 to 28 mph on level pavement with little rider effort. The bigger motor's real cost is range; that guide expects 20 to 30 percent less of it under identical conditions.
Battery: the deciding gap
This is the number that separates the three.
- Lacros Cyclone: 48 V, 20 Ah "Samsung battery" per the spec badges, stated as 960 Wh.
- Lectric XP 3.0: 48 V, 10.4 Ah, 499 Wh, per our review.
- Heybike Mars 3.0: 624 Wh, per its page.
By the numbers, the Cyclone carries 1.9 times the energy of the Lectric for $60 more, and about 54 percent more than the Heybike for $140 less. Lacros also publishes a cycle-life claim of 600 cycles to 80 percent capacity. That is a manufacturer-published figure that nobody outside the company has verified, so on battery longevity we can only repeat what the page says.
If your rides are short, the gap costs you nothing. If you routinely ride 30 miles or more between charges, it is the whole decision.
Range, honestly
Every spec sheet is optimistic here. Lacros lists 90 miles maximum and does not say which assist level that assumes. Our XP 3.0 review lists up to 45 miles at pedal-assist level one. Heybike lists up to 65 miles per charge.
Our commuter guide's rule of thumb is that real-world range lands at 60 to 70 percent of the advertised figure at a middle assist level, and our Heybike review adds that a 70-mile claim assumes flat ground, a light rider and low assist. Applying that rule turns the claims into brackets:
- Cyclone: roughly 54 to 63 miles
- XP 3.0: roughly 27 to 32 miles
- Mars 3.0: roughly 39 to 46 miles
Those are arithmetic on a published maximum, not measurements. Treat them as the order of the three, not as promises.
Speed, class and where you can ride
Lacros's badges list a 28 mph top speed and the page states no class. Our e-bike classes guide explains that assist to 28 mph is Class 3 in most states, that Class 3 bikes usually have no throttle or one capped at 20 mph, and that many trail systems exclude throttle bikes entirely. A 28 mph bike with a twist throttle and no stated class is worth a question to Lacros before you buy, because class decides where you are legally allowed to ride.
The Lectric ships as Class 2 with a 28 mph Class 3 unlock in its settings, per our review. Heybike's page lists Class 2 by default with an unlock to 30-plus mph using the display. A 20 mph street mode is what keeps you legal in most US states.
Frame, fold, weight and payload
The Lectric folds, at 64 pounds with a 330-pound payload, per our review; our comparison post notes that the fold introduces a flex point a rigid frame does not have. The Heybike folds too, and its 3.0 page lists a 440-pound maximum load.
The Cyclone is a step-through, and here is a real gap: Lacros lists a 400-pound maximum load but publishes no weight for the bike and does not say whether the frame folds. If you carry a bike up stairs, ask before you order; our commuter guide puts the practical stairs limit at about 55 pounds, and every fat-tire bike in this bracket is heavier than that.
Suspension and brakes: what is confirmed
Our sources disagree here, so we will say plainly what is confirmed and what is not.
- Cyclone: the page says full suspension, front and rear, and does not name the brake type.
- XP 3.0: 180 mm mechanical discs and a front fork only, per our review.
- Mars 3.0: unconfirmed. Our Mars 2.0 review lists mechanical discs and a front fork in its spec table; our under-$1,500 guide describes hydraulic brakes; and Heybike's 3.0 page sells a hydraulic brake set as a separate upgrade. The stock spec on the 3.0 is worth one email to Heybike.
Why it matters: our buying guidance is to skip mechanical discs if you weigh over 200 pounds or your route has hills.
Certification, charging and what is in the box
Heybike's page states TUV certification in accordance with UL 2849, the electrical-system standard our battery-fire recall post explains you should look for. Lacros's page shows a UL Certification badge without naming the standard, and we could not confirm the Lectric's certification from our fetch. Ask both.
On charging, Lacros's page says the Cyclone takes about 8 hours from empty to full. Our XP 3.0 review lists 4 to 5 hours on the standard 2-amp charger and about 2.5 hours on the optional 4-amp charger. The Lectric includes a rear rack; Heybike's page lists a rack rated for 100 pounds; the Cyclone's rack and fender kit is sold as an accessory. Trial windows differ too: 30 days at Lacros against 14 at Heybike, both manufacturer-published.
Who each bike is for
Choose the Lectric XP 3.0 if the fold and the lowest price matter most and your rides are short enough that 499 Wh is plenty.
Choose the Heybike Mars 3.0 if you want the established folding brand with a torque sensor and the biggest payload, and you accept paying the most of the three.
Choose the Lacros Cyclone if watt-hours per dollar outrank brand track record, you do not need a fold, and you treat the 30-day trial as your safety net. On paper it carries the most energy of the three for the middle price. You can see the Lacros Cyclone's current price and trial terms on Lacros's site; the $1,059 figure is a sale price and may have moved.
If you can stretch past this bracket, our XP 3.0 vs RadCity 5 Plus comparison covers the Rad, though our own coverage lists its price at both $1,499 and $1,699, so check it live. For the wider field, our best e-bikes under $1,500 guide ranks eight more.
What we could not verify about Lacros
Lacros is a direct-to-consumer brand with five models from $799 to $1,459, free shipping over $50, a 30-day trial and a 2-year warranty, all manufacturer-published. What we could not find is any independent record of how the company manages delivery or support, so this comparison makes no claim about reliability or service. The specs, the price, the trial and the warranty are what the manufacturer publishes, and that is what we can attribute. If that record matters to you, the Cyclone's 30-day trial is the manufacturer's own answer to it.
FAQ
Is the Lacros Cyclone really under $1,500?
At the time of our research the Cyclone page listed $1,059, shown against a $1,699 list price. That is a sale price, so check the Cyclone's current price before assuming the bracket still holds.
Which of the three has the longest range?
By the published maxima and our 60 to 70 percent rule, the Cyclone's bracket (54 to 63 miles) is the longest, then the Mars 3.0 (39 to 46), then the XP 3.0 (27 to 32). None of those is a measurement.
Does the Lacros Cyclone fold?
Its product page does not say. Lacros's foldable model is the Pinecone. Ask Lacros directly if a fold matters to you.
What class is the Lacros Cyclone?
The page lists a 28 mph top speed and states no class. Under most state rules, assist to 28 mph is Class 3, which can limit where you may ride; confirm with Lacros and check your state.
Free Download
Ultimate eBike Buying Guide
Avoid the 4 most expensive eBike mistakes
Instant download. No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.
Affiliate Disclosure



